North Beach Review

Message from the President

Welcome to our End Of Year Newsletter of 2021.

Unfortunately, this year we saw the passing of a number of our Members, and the Sub-Branch honours their service to country and RSLWA.

This year, despite a lockdown earlier in the year we have been very active.  The highlights were, ANZAC House Lunch, RAAF Museum Bullcreek, Perth Mint Visit, and the Darwin Tour of Duty.  It is with thanks to Paul McGuinness and his team for organising these highly successful activities.  Veterans’ Health Week saw participation of members on the Bibbulmun Track and Araluen walks followed by Lunch at Mundaring Weir Hotel and Chalet Healy, respectively.  Thanks go to Alex Lennox and Wayne Koch for organising these.  Well done, and thank you to all members for your active participation.

Our Membership continues to increase, and I am particularly pleased to see our younger veterans.  Member involvement in our Sub-Branch is high, and our meetings are packed and enthusiastic.  The dinner following our meetings is always well received, and thanks must go the teams organising the social aspects of our meetings and cleaning up afterwards.  Everyone pitching in as a team makes for a strong Sub-Branch.

As a Sub-Branch, we also continue to have good media exposure with the City of Stirling, Stirling Times, The Listening Post and DVA News.

I encourage all of our members to continue to participate and be involved in our Sub-Branch as they can and in particular, remain in contact with each other.  Advice and help is always available to those members who need it by contacting one of our Office Bearers, our Wellbeing Support Officers or one of the appropriate support agencies  detailed on our website.

Long Term Memorial Warden David House has decided to have a rest from this task, and has passed the baton onto myself.  I, and the Sub-Branch, am incredibly grateful to David for undertaking this role in such an exemplary manner.  Thank you, David.

On a more personal note, I am pleased to have been appointed to RSLWA’s Western Australian Veterans Advisory Committee (WAVAC).  I am not on this Committee in isolation, and encourage all members to discuss difficulties they consider important in transitioning defence personnel into civilian life and particular issues facing veterans.  This is also an opportunity for our younger veterans to have input, and should they wish, attend a Committee meeting with me, as a visitor.

As Christmas approaches, I wish all members and families a safe and happy time and look forward to our first meeting of 2022 on Monday 14 February, commencing at our new time of 5:00pm.

John Rolfe

President

 
Steve Fletcher and his team of over 40 members gave their time on “Poppy Day”, 5th November, and a significant amount was raised.  This was a tremendous effort once again from our Sub-Branch.  
After the deduction of the cost of Poppies, and RSLWA has its share, the Sub-Branch has raised a healthy sum for its Welfare Account to support those members in need.
Well done and a big thanks to  Steve and the Team.

Renewal      of      Membership

Membership fees of many of our members are due by 31 December 2021.

Did you know that you can renew your membership safely and securely on-line through the RSLWA webpage?

EITHER

 Log onto RSLWA/Membership: 

https://www.rslwa.org.au/members/membership

And click on “Logon Here” within the blue bar and follow directions.

OR

 Log onto the North Beach RSL Sub-Branch website:

https://northbeach-rsl.asn.au/members/membership/

And click on “RSLWA –Membership Log in for applications and renewal

and follow directions

OR

You may choose to pay the Treasurer at our next meeting.

The Sub-Branch can accept electronic payment; however you will need to discuss this with the Treasurer.

The Last Post

Jack Meyer

17 October 2024 – 23 October 2021

RAAF WW2

Lindsay (Jim) Williams

5 May 1932 – 8 October 2021

RAN Korea

Richard Hawley

5 June 1924 – 13 September 2021

RAAF WW2

Geoffrey Chantler 

25 September 1935 – 29 June 2021

RAN

Bertie Beaumont

22 February 1950 – 19 May 2021

RAAF Vietnam

Ron Ager

23 August 1923 – 26 April 2021

Army and RAAF WW2

Glen Kenneth MOORE

25 September 1946 –  10 March 2021

RAR Vietnam

Edward Charles Burgess

7 May 1933 – 19 February 2021

2 RAR Korea and Army

Peter Joseph Prunster

9 October 1939 – 12 February 2021

RAAF

Lest We Forget

What Have We Been Doing

Even though earlier in the year we were hampered by Covid Restrictions, it was an action packed year, the highlight would have been a very successful visit to Darwin.  Also, the annual 4 wheel drive excursion to the outback was held during September.

The organised “one day events” of the year included:

  • A visit to the RAAF Museum at Bullcreek,
  • The Perth Mint
  • Lunch at the new ANZAC HOUSE
  • Fremantle Army Museum
  • Veterans’ Health Week “one day events” of Bibbulmun Track and Araluen.

(All of these events were followed by Lunch at members’ expense.)

  • Our Annual November Lunch at Hillarys Yacht Club.

It is very rewarding that so many of our members participate in our activities, but there is always room for more.  Do not hesitate to join us.

Remember, we meet twice weekly, Wednesday and Friday at Hillarys Marina for activities and coffee.  The Walking, Cycling and Kayaking groups always welcome more involvement, and the coffee and chat from about 09:15 on both days is popular – south side of the Marina – look for the RSL Sign.  Come on down and join in, even if it is just for coffee, you will be made welcome.

It is these activities and special events that make our Sub-Branch special and supportive.

The Annual Dinner – Hillarys Yacht Club

One hundred and thirty (130) attended this Sub-Branch’s Annual / Christmas Dinner on Wednesday 24 November at the Hillarys Yacht Club.  It was attended by a broad cross section from our Sub-Branch, and it was particularly good to see our younger veterans and partners of members in attendance.

The meals and service was excellent, and the venue with views over the Marina could not be faulted.  Organiser (and host Paul McGuinness) and his Team did an excellent job.

Annual Dinner Hillarys Yacht Club

ANZAC Day and Remembrance Day

As all of us know, the ANZAC Day Commemoration at North Beach did not go ahead due to Covid Restrictions.

ANZAC Day

Barry Lloyd and all of the ANZAC Day organisation team did a magnificent job in the lead up to the day, and in making sure all of the paperwork and formal arrangements were made well before time.  We had good publicity prior to the day, and the planned Dawn Service would have been a huge success.

Some of the publicity included support from the City of Stirling, Stirling Times and The Listening Post.  The City of Stirling included vision of Peta Connelly and her daughter, and Wayne Koch on the City’s social media page.  We had a two page spread in The Listening Post on Jack Meyer’s story and also a two page spread in the Stirling Time featuring three generations of our veterans.  All the articles had a focus on ANZAC Day, and our Late member Jack Meyer was also interviewed on Channel 10 and how ANZAC Day impacted him.

City of Stirling Photo for its Social Media
Stirling Times Photo for Article

Remembrance Day

Once again, Barry Lloyd and the team organised a successful Remembrance Day and was well attended by members, the local community, members of Parliament, the Mayor of the City of Stirling, local schoolchildren, and of course a bus load of Legacy Ladies.  The City of Stirling once again helped out by including the event in its on-line diary.  Curtin Radio also provided a community announcement of the event.

So, to all involved in its organisation, and to those attending, well done.

Thanks must also go to Ruth Raspa and all her helpers who decorated Kings Park Memorial with Poppies, and then were involved in removing them following Remembrance Day. 

The Planting of Poppies

Trevor McEntyre, Wayne Koch, Jess Welfare, Dario Raspa.  

What Events are Planned

The major events for 2022 is the Annual Tour of Duty.  Destination is KALGOORLIE from 16 – 21 March 2022.  The Limit is 40 Members, and this has been filled – BUT, you are welcome on the Wait List.

Paul McGuinness is organising this, and it promises to be one to remember.  Paul and John Rolfe are also liaising with Robyn Steenbach, President Kalgoorlie RSL Sub-Branch.  Robyn, a current Board Member of RSLWA, has been most helpful to Paul and John relating to this Tour of Duty.

Other “one day only” and Peer Health events are in the pipe-line, and these will be communicated to all members  as soon as plans are in place.

Care is being taken in the planning of these events, so ALL our members are being catered for.  This includes our participation in Veterans Health Week, planned by DVA, towards the end of the 2022 year.

First Meeting of 2022

Remember, our first meeting of 2022 will commence at 5:00pm on Monday 14th February 2022.

This new time has been introduced as a trial, in order to make our monthly meetings accessible to younger veterans who may have had difficulty in attending because of work commitments.

So, get the word around and encourage our younger veterans to attend.

Did You Know

DVA now has a YouTube Channel, and it is well worth having a browse and watching some of the videos on this new site.  It is still being developed and full marks to DVA for this initiative.  It should be of interest to all ex service personnel and their families. 

It is available on the following link, or do a search using the words: DVA YouTube.  If you have a smart TV, you can access it on that and view in comfort.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC7WQ9eFKHzf5lCMUm0RpUyQ?app=desktop&sub_confirmation=1

Australian Virtual War Memorial

The Australian Virtual War Memorial was originally an initiative of RSL South Australia and has now expanded to an Australian wide initiative.

To access this site, click on this Link:

https://vwma.org.au/

Or enter in your search engine – vwma.org.au

VWMA’s aim is to be the outstanding national digital Memorial, acknowledged for its integrity and relevance; its respectful presentation of socio-military history and its capacity to engage and educate individuals and communities.  Its Mission is to provide a worthy home, in perpetuity, for the records and the personal experiences of all individuals who have served and the impact of this service on the individuals themselves, their families and communities.

It serves to commemorate all Australians who have served the nation in times of conflict commencing at the Boer War and Boxer Rebellion and the Great War, World War 2, Korea, Vietnam, all Middle East conflicts and all declared Peacekeeping and Peacemaking missions.

Patron -in-Chief

  • General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK AC(Mil) CVO MC (Retd)

Patrons

  • The Hon Dr Brendan Nelson AO 
  • Associate Professor Susan J Neuhaus AM CSC

North Beach RSL Sub-Branch has entries on this site, both individual stories, and photos and description of the North Beach Memorial within the Charles Riley Memorial Reserve, Kitchener Street, North Beach.  Search for “North Beach” under Memorials.

This is a work in progress, so some detail and stories still need to be added.

Have a Look – it’s an interesting site and the Search Facility can generate relevant results. 

It also contains stories that were entered in “Remembering ANZACS” from several years ago.  Individuals may also lodge stories, subject to moderation by VWMA, that are of interest.  Should you be interest in this, contact Brian Jennings – contact details on last page of this newsletter.

Some Facts

1901

 

How old is Australia’s Navy?  This might seem a simple question, but over the years the Australian Navy’s birthday has remained a source of some confusion.  The date now accepted is 1 March 1901.  The previously accepted date of 10 July 1911 is not the birth date of naval forces in Australia, rather it was the date that the Sovereign granted the title ‘Royal Australian Navy

The Australian Army was formed on March 1st, 1901, as the Commonwealth Military Forces, through the amalgamation of the Australian colonial forces following Federation

For the record, A Field Battery, raised on 1 August 1871, is Australia’s oldest, continuously-serving, full-time military unit.

1921

Formation of the Royal Australian Air Force

1931

General Sir John Monash, GCMG, KCB, VD; 27 June 1865 – 8 October 1931, was a civil engineer. lawyer and an Australian military commander of the First World War.   He commanded the 13th Infantry Brigade before the war and then, shortly after its outbreak, became commander of the 4th Brigade in Egypt, with whom he took part in the Gallipoli campaign.  In July 1916 he took charge of the newly raised 3rd Division in north western France and in May 1918 became commander of the Australian Corps, at the time the largest corps on the Western Front.  Monash is considered one of the best Allied generals of the First World War and the most famous commander in Australian history.

1941

Australia on 9 December 1941 declared war with the Empire of Japan.

The 6th Division went into action at Bardia on 3 January 1941.  Although a larger Italian force manned the fortress, with the support of British tanks and artillery the Australian infantry quickly penetrated the defensive lines, and it was a major victory for the Australians.

The collapse of British power in the Pacific also led Australia to reorient its foreign and military policy towards the United States. Curtin stated in December 1941 “that Australia looks to America, free of any pangs as to our traditional links or kinship with the United Kingdom.”[

The massive expansion of the military led to a critical shortage of male workers and increased female participation in the labour force.  The number of Australian women in paid employment increased from 644,000 in 1939, to 855,000 in 1944.  Large numbers of women moved from traditionally “female” roles into “male” roles in industry.

Female branches of the armed forces were established in 1941, and by 1944 almost 50,000 women were serving in the Women’s Royal Australian Naval Service, Australian Women’s Army Service and Women’s Auxiliary Australian Air Force.  Thousands more served with the civilian Australian Women’s Land Army or undertook voluntary war work.

Workforce shortages became an increasingly significant economic issue towards the end of the war, and the Australian military was reduced in size from 1944, to free up personnel for war industries and the civilian economy.

1951

The first parachute training unit was formed in 1942 the Paratroop Training Unit (PTU) and at the end of the war was disbanded.[2] On 12 August 1951, the Parachute Training Wing was formed as a Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF) unit at RAAF Base Williamtown, New South Wales.  The unit’s first Commanding Officer/Chief Instructor was Squadron Leader C.A.V. Bourne.  The instructors on the staff were both Army and RAAF personnel.[3] The first course of trainees commenced in September 1951.  In 1958, the wing was renamed the Parachute Training Flight.  In 1961, the first Military Free Fall (MFF) Paratroop Course was conducted.

In 1951, all men aged 18 were required to register for national service and to undertake various training obligations, depending on which force they served in.  Once training was completed, national servicemen were required to remain in the Reserve for five years, with some 33,000 men being trained annually for the scheme’s first six years.

Those called up under this scheme did not see active service.  In 1957, the universal obligation for national service ended and a selective system of training was introduced.  This lasted until the scheme ended in 1959.

On 22–25 April 1951 at Kapyong River, Korea, the Battle of Kapyong.  3RAR awarded Presidential Citation, and 24 April is commemorated as Kapyong Day within 3 RAR.

1961

In 1961, three Charles F. Adams-class destroyers were purchased from the United States to replace the ageing Q-class destroyers.  Traditionally, the RAN had purchased designs based on those of the Royal Navy and the purchase of American destroyers was significant.  HMAS Perth and HMAS Hobart joined the fleet in 1965, followed by HMAS Brisbane in 1967.  Other projects included the construction of six River-class frigates, the conversion of the aircraft carrier HMAS Melbourne to an anti-submarine role, the acquisition of ten Wessex helicopters, and the purchase of six Oberon-class submarines.

In 1961 and 1962, the leader of the South Vietnamese government, Ngo Dinh Diem, asked for assistance from the US and its allies in response to a growing insurgency supported by communist North Vietnam.  Australia offered 30 military advisors from the Australian Army Training Team Vietnam, which became known simply as “The Team”.

1971

It was reported in Australian newspapers that on 7th November 1971 – Australia’s combat role in the Vietnam war ended when 1100 men of the 4th Battalion withdrew from Nui Dat which had been the main Australian base in Vietnam for five years.  The entire base was turned over to the South Vietnamese army just before midday.

1981

The first ‘proto-paramedic’ course was developed at the RAN Medical Training School (MTS) at HMAS Cerberus in 1981, in response to an ongoing shortfall in Navy medical officer recruiting after the Vietnam War that precluded the previous practice of putting doctors aboard every Fleet unit.

1991

On 26 January 1991, HMAS Westralia replaced HMAS Success.  A Navy clearance diving team was also deployed for explosive ordnance disposal and demolition tasks.  Australian ships were in danger of sea mines and possible air attacks.  In a number of recorded incidents, HMAS Brisbane encountered free floating mines, on one occasion narrowly avoiding a collision.  Both HMA Ships Brisbane and Sydney encountered significant air threat warnings from Iran and Iraq throughout the initial period of the commencement of the Desert Storm Campaign.  The detection of land based Silkworm anti-ship missiles from Iran throughout the campaign also added to the challenges for both crews as well as the multi-national Naval Forces

Family Military and Service History

Searching for the military and service history of a family member can take time and effort.  These links are the more common ones available.  A digital copy of their service records may also be available, if not, then information is available on how to obtain them.

https://nominal-rolls.dva.gov.au

https://www.dva.gov.au/recognition/commemorating-all-who-served/records-and-military-history

https://recordsearch.naa.gov.au/SearchNRetrieve/Interface/SessionTimeout.aspx

To obtain a copy of your own service records access this link, copy the form, complete it and send it in by either mail or email.

https://www.defence.gov.au/records/docs/Request%20for%20Records.pdf

Veterans’ Mental Health and Crisis Support

Mental health and suicide prevention is everyone’s business, and we all have a part to play – check in on a mate, ask them if they are okay, have a conversation and help them get the support they need.

Open Arms provide 24/7 counselling and support to current and former ADF members and their families.  They also offer face-to-face and video counselling, online or in-person, group treatment programs, suicide prevention programs and crisis accommodation support.

https://www.openarms.gov.au/

24/7 support on 1800 011 046

37-39 Reynolds Rd, Mount Pleasant WA 6153

More Support:

  • 1800RESPECT open 24/7 for national family violence and sexual assault counselling. It’s a free and confidential service.  Call 1800RESPECT (or 1800 737 732) or visit their website (1800respect.org.au).
  • MensLine Australia provides free 24/7 help, support, referrals and counselling services for men via telephone or online.  Call 1300 78 99 78 or visit their website (mensline.org.au).

Our Sub-Branch

North Beach RSL Sub-Branch has one of the largest memberships in WA, and meet on the second Monday each month (except January) at the North Beach Bowling Club, Kitchener Street, North Beach commencing 4:00pm, and from our first meeting 2022, from 5:00pm.

Entry Fee is $20.00 if you are staying for a meal following our meeting, otherwise it is $10.00.  During the course of the meeting the $10.00 covers the cost of 2 drinks from the Bar of the Bowling Club.

Our meetings are well attended and usually have over 120 members present.

What Can We Offer You:

Our members are from the Defence and Emergency Service and have a link to those who served.  Our Sub-Branch have members who have recently transitioned from the Defence and Emergency Services, partners of veterans, and those who have been members in excess of 50 years.

The Sub-Branch is socially active, and should you wish to join in, it:

  • Meets twice weekly at Hillarys Marina for walking, kayaking, bike riding and talking over coffee.
  • Has day tours of interest during the year
  • Undertakes a week Tour of Duty – this year was Darwin, next year it will be Kalgoorlie.
  • Participates in DVA sponsored Veterans Health Week .
  • Commemorates ANZAC Day and Remembrance Day at its North Beach Memorial within the Charles Riley Memorial Reserve.

We can offer support, advice and information on how to contact services that offer professional help, but most importantly peer support and understanding.

Our website https://northbeach-rsl.asn.au/ contains contact information relating to support services, and also information, latest news, members’ stories, Gallery of events and more. 

The Facebook Page https://www.facebook.com/northbeachrslwa/ is maintained daily, has feeds from like organisations and has a library of interesting photos from our Sub-Branch events.

The Sub-Branch also provides a Wellbeing Support role as well as Advocacy referral.  We always have someone that members can contact should advice or help be needed.  For initial contact relating to welfare matters or advocacy, contact Greg or Ted.

Wellbeing Support

Greg Gough

0417 911 173

patngoughy@hotmail.com

Advocacy

Ted Leunig

0408 177 193

ted.leunig@oracle.com

Also, refer to our website for our key contacts, or our regularly updated voluntary included Contacts List that is regularly emailed to our members.

Joondalup Hub

A Veterans’ Support Centre (Veterans’ Support Centre Joondalup (VSCJ)) is  run by volunteers. The VSCJ is located at the Heathridge Leisure Centre and is open every Tuesday 1000-1600 and Thursday 1200-1800.  The VSCJ 24/7 contact number is 0437 378 498

RSLWA

RSLWA has a new website – https://www.rslwa.org.au/

Welfare

Rosalind Howat can be contacted via:

RSLWA Advocacy

Advocates can be contacted via:

The     Lighter     Side

 

NAVY TRAINING MANUAL

(Courtesy Australian Surf Rowers League)

 TALL TALES & TRUE by Two Shackles Bill

 TELL’IN BELL TIME ABOARD a HMS NAVY SHIP

Ahoy thar me’hearties ! tis ol’ Two Shackles Bill back ter give yer a wee insight inta how yer be tell’in time at sea. See’in this years very successful ASRL Open was again sponsored by the HMAS Navy, aye thought it would be a good idea ter explain how a sailor on a HMS Ship tells the time when out at sea on duty.

Yer canny jest take a wee peak at yer wrist watch when yer are out in the “Big Blue”, well yer can take a wee peak at yer watch but it will be of no use ter yer.  Because yer see me bucko’s yer could ave been sailing in an Eastly or Westly direction fer days or weeks & unless yer ave access ter the ship’s chronometer & yer understand navigation calculations & ave charts yer be all at sea.

Here’s how an ol’ sea dog like meself knew the time whilst serv’in on board the HMS SURPRISE under Captain Lucky Jack Aubry during the England & France sortees in the early 1800’s.

Although many things ave changed aboard a HMS ship since those days, like floggings & keel hauli’in, a good example of change is that bach in those days we used a knotted rope thrown overboard astern & egg timer tee tell yer the ship’s speed in knots. However one thing that thar hasn’t changed is that Bell Time remains the same aboard a HMS Ship ter this very day.

All time on a HMS ship begins at Noon & not at Mid-Night like landlubbers time, thus a nautical day begins 12 hours before a civilian day. Noon be chosen as it is constant not like sunrise or sunset set that varies season ter season also Noon can be determined with a sextant when at sea by measuring the angle of the Sun.

The ship’s bell is wot be used ter indicate time aboard a ship, but unlike civilian clocks the strikes of the bell do not relate to the hour of the day, instead the tolls relate to the time a watch has been on duty on the ship.

Dur’in me time at sea next ter the ship’s bell was a large wooden tumble turn egg timer that took 30 minutes to shift the sand from glass section to glass section. The egg timer was turned every half hour by the Duty Watch Officer. When the sand had completed shifted from one side ter the other the ship’s bell was rung as many times as needed to be.

So to conform to this Maritime time a ship’s crew & officers (not the Captain) are divided into a Port Watch & Starboard Watch, a Watch period is 4 hours & there are 6 Watches in a 24hr day. There may be other duty watches needed on occasions but these special assignment watches are delegated out on a specific needs basis only.

Although ship’s time starts at Noon, ship watches start at Midnight & change every 4 hours. During a watch the ship’s bell is struck every half hour by the Watch Officer on duty, one clang means half an hour into that watch, 4 bells meant 2 hours into a watch, 7 bells was 3 and a half hours into a watch.

The watch’s comprise of First Watch (Midnight-4am) Morning Watch (4am-8am) Forenoon Watch (8am-Noon) Afternoon Watch (Noon-4pm) Middle Watch (4pm-8pm) Dog Watch (8pm-Midnight).

Under normal conditions a sailor will stand too fer two watches a day & will be on duty a total of 8 hours out of 24. The assignment of crew members to a watch is adjusted so that no man serves two consecutive watches.Now if yer understand the ship’s duty watches yer should be able ter get a grasp of tellin time on a ship. It’s just an easy process of translating a group of bell claps into a time of day that should be obvious ter most people. It’s an ol’ as they say “quick step sailor’s jig”, so be yer ready ter dance.

Note the watch on duty & think of wot time it started duty. For example:-If the Morning Watch is now on duty, it started duty at 4:00 a.m. If you hear two bells, one hour has elapsed since 4:00 a.m.; it must now be 5:00 a.m. If the Afternoon Watch was on duty, yer know that it went on duty at 12:00 noon, so if you hear six bells, it must now be 3-o’clock in the afternoon.

The name of the watch doesn’t really matter for telling time. So long as you take a fix on the number of bells and the approximate time of day, you’ll have all the information you need.

Sailors do it by such means as scanning the sky, looking at shadows cast by the sun, or noting the smells from the galley, whether it be dinner or breakfast that is cooking or looking at the food that has just been served.

Another clue for example as to the period of the day it is, look to the Sun, if the Sun is about 30 degrees above the horizon in the east, the current time must be later than dawn and earlier than noon. If you then hear 7 bells, you shood know the time must be 7.30am.

The Watch on duty if the sun is just starting to peep above the horizon in the east would be the Morning Watch & if you hear 3 bells it would be 5.30am. Therefore this watch now on duty would be the second watch in the 24 hour/6 cycle rotation period, it started at 4.00am & will quit at 8.00am.

So whatever numbers of bells you hear during this watch jest add the bells up allowing half hour a bell tone & add that to what time the watch started. When it comes to telling bell time, common sense rules the day.

OK got it me’hearties!, here’s yer Quiz Test ter see if yer been nodding off whilst readin me ol’days HMS Navy days yarn:-

The watch now on duty is the Forenoon Watch, yer know this because yer ate yer breakfast with yer mate who had to turn too fer Forenoon Watch. When yer finish yer breakfast yer head back ter yer hammock ter read a book. Yer manage ter drift off lazing about in yer hammock, yer are awaken by 6 bells, wot be the time?

So thar yer go me’hearties tis eazzee-peazee ter tell the time aboard a ship, oh nearly forgot in an emergency & its all hands on deck the bell rings furiously & continually if yer be on downtime yer dinny get any hours back & that me bucko jest be ‘ardluck’.

When a sailor dies it is said that he is at 8 bells. Now as fer me, aye nay be dead but aye be at 8 bells fer this thar tale, so til next time “keep a weather eye ter the horizon fer me sails” . Ohhh nearly forgot me bucko’s the answer to the Quiz be 11.00am.

Editor’s Note:  No responsibility is taken for the accuracy of information in this article, and latest news is that sailing ships are being phased out of the Australian Navy

A little neurological test: Only use your eyes!

 Find the C in the table below

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOCOOOOOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

If you have already found the C, then find the 6 in the table below.

99999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999

99999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999

99999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999

69999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999

99999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999

99999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999

99999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999

Now find the N in the table below.

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMNMM

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

And Photos Never Lie

True Tales – Overheard at Sub-Branch Coffee

“Well, we were building a new exercise area in Queensland, and being with RAE I was driving a dozer grading a track for a road.  We had been living rough (for engineers that means without a refrigerator and a personal chef) and had been living on basic camp cooked rations and Ration Packs for several weeks.  Well a Pig Farm adjoined the exercise area and what appeared on the track before me – 6 escaped piglets.  Our eyes met and we were all transfixed with each other.  The piglets saw the machine as a threat, and I saw them as a roast dinner.  So after balancing up the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats of what came to mind, I scooped them up in the grader and took then back to camp.

I asked the cook in passing, ‘what’s for dinner’, ‘how would I know’, came the usual curt reply.  Well, after lowering the grader scoop, he saw the piglets, ‘right, roast pork it is.’ 

It is said in stories told at the local pub by the old folk that the pig farmer still roams the bush looking for a family of pigs.”

Office Bearers 2021 – 2022

President

John Rolfe

Wellbeing and Advocacy

Greg Gough,

Ted Leunig (Trainee Advocate)

Vice President

Peter Bowring

Master at Arms

Stuart Leake

Secretary

Trevor McEntyre

Commemorative

Barry Lloyd

Assistant Secretary

Wayne Koch

ANZAC Day

Trevor McEntyre, John Rolfe, Chris Rampant, Jim Ryle, Peter Edwards, Graham Edwards, Bernie Egan, Peter Bowring.

Treasurer

David King

Poppy Day

Steve Fletcher

Wardens

Alex Lennox

Rob Sweet

Revenue Steward

Jim Muscat,

Tom May (assistant)

Memorial Warden

John Rolfe

Honorary Chaplain

Marie Aitken

Peer Health

Alex Lennox, Eric Aitkins

Stewards

Stuart Young, Peter Dales, David Makin, Stewart Davies

Annual Dinner

Social Activities

Paul McGuinness

Website Administrator

Helen Burgess

 

 

Website and News Editor

Brian Jennings

Tune in to The Listening Post every Monday 1800-2000, Capital Radio 101.7 FM, Capital Digital and from anywhere via www.capitalcommunityradio.com  Perth’s only radio program specially for Defence personnel, past and present, their families and friends. 

If you are not receiving emails from the Secretary advising you of important events, please forward your phone number and email contact to: northbeachrslwa@gmail.com

North Beach Review

North Beach Sub-Branch welcomes contributions and articles that may be used on its website and in the North Beach Review.

To discuss how you may contribute, contact Brian Jennings on 0413 605 612 or email on  jamjenb@bigpond.com

 

 

Disclaimer

North Beach Review source material is edited to remove inappropriate content, and clarify, shorten or standardise where needed.  Although tests for accuracy are undertaken, readers should not rely on any of this material without carrying out your own due diligence.  Opinions are not necessarily those of RSL North Beach Sub-Branch or RSLWA. 

 

Our North Beach Memorial

The Memorial Precinct on the Charles Riley Memorial Reserve is owned and maintained by the City of Stirling and administered by the Sub Branch. The area includes the Monument, Wall of Remembrance and the “Lone Pine” tree.  Plaques on The Wall of Remembrance recognise the service of deceased members of the Sub Branch.

John Rolfe is the current Warden, and arranges the unveiling of plaques on Remembrance Day each year. (6 weeks prior notice required before unveiling of plaques)

Our Commemorative Committee

Our Commemorative committee organises ANZAC Day Dawn Services, and planning for the Remembrance Day service.
Funding for the Dawn Service is mainly from Lotterywest and the City of Stirling.

Our Groups

Walkers meet Wednesday and Friday, southside of Hillarys Marina from 08:00-08:45 for a stroll or controlled stagger along the coast.

Our kayakers meet up at 08:00 in the Yacht Club carpark for a paddle and pick up debris from the Boat Harbour.

Our cycling group is also gaining in numbers.

All Members are welcome to join our Coffee and Talk Group that meet on the south side of Hillarys Marina each Wednesdy and Friday from about 09:15 – Look for the sign.