North Beach Review December 2020

 

 

 

 

 

 

To read an item in the Table of Contents just click on it.

Table of Contents

Message from the President

On behalf of the Executive I would like to wish you and your family the very best for the festive season.

Our 2020 year has, like all organisations world-wide, been one impacted by COVID-19, however we have all managed our way through this difficult time with each other’s support.  Our meetings since restrictions were lifted have been well attended and our membership continues to grow.

August saw Rob Sweet step down as Secretary after so many years of providing valuable service and support.  Trevor McEntyre was appointed as the new Secretary and the administration of our Sub-Branch continues to be in good hands.

.

Although our activities were curtailed in the first half of the year, we are now seeing a return to normal. 

Our Wednesday and Friday Walking, Kayak and Cycling Groups have had regular good attendance and the regroup for coffee that follows at about 09:15 is most popular.  The Four Wheel Drive Group left and returned from their adventure in November.  Steve Fletcher organised Poppy collections, and  Remembrance Day was commemorated by a good representation of our members and the community.  Following the service Plaques were unveiled in our Wall of Remembrance.  Our Christmas Lunch at Hillarys Yacht Club was well attended by a broad representation of members and special guests.

November also saw the Opening of ANZAC House – Veteran Central, which has been a significant achievement for RSLWA and its members.  I attended the Opening with Rob Sweet.

Next year promises to be one of more special events, tours and Peer Health activities, including a planned Tour of Duty of Darwin in June 2021.

I would like to thank all of our members and the special guests we have had at our meetings throughout the year and wish you all the very best for the festive season, and 2021.

We will also remember those Members who are no longer with us – and wish their families our best wishes for their festive season.

 

John Role

President

KEY EVENTS IN NOVEMBER

 Legacy Camp Maintenance

Roger Hardwicke’s band of workers undertook a tour of duty at the Legacy Camp, Busselton during early November.  Once again, they performed their miracles on behalf of Legacy.  A worthy cause that has been undertaken by our Sub-Branch for some years, and one that has significantly contributed to the future of Legacy.

Remembrance Day

Remembrance Day at the North Beach Sub-Branch Memorial on Charles Riley Reserve was well attended by our members, members of the community and local school children.  Wreaths were laid and plaques in our Wall of Remembrance were unveiled under the shade of the Lone Pine.  Plaques  remembered Louis Warner, Abel Seaman HMAS Kanimbla; Peter Woodward, L/Cpl. RAASC; and Arthur Cressall and Robert Bowers, both LAC’s RAAF.

Opening of ANZAC House Veteran Central
Christmas Function

On Thursday 26 November, our Sub-Branch hosted a Christmas Lunch at the Hillarys Yacht Club.  Once again, this year was well attended by members and guests, and a special thanks must go to organiser Peter Edwards, MC Jon McKenzie, and Prize Coordinator Paul McGuinness.  A wide variety of prizes were donated for the raffle, which was conducted by our MC, and ably assisted by member Vince Connelly MP.

President John Rolfe presented Wayne Koch with the trophy of Member of the Year for his work “behind the scenes” and assisting with the smooth management of our Sub-Branch.  Well done that man.

It was great to see a wide representation from our membership attend from the younger members, to those who have eternal youth.  Making a most welcome attendance was Merle Best, wife of our late esteemed member Basil.

What is Being Planned 2020 – 2021

All of our Sub-Branch social events and activities are coordinated by the Social Activities Coordinator Paul McGuinness.  For more information contact Paul on 0417 181 025.

Peer Health activities are coordinated by Alex Lennox – 0409 114 298

Events and activities that are in the final stages of organisation include:

Event

Date

DETAIL

Lunch at ANZAC House Veteran Central.  

12 February 2021

From 11:30 for 12:00 start

Air Force Museum

12 March 2021

Lunch after event

Perth Mint

May 2021

Lunch after event

Darwin Tour of Duty

4 – 12 June 2021

 

Fremantle Army Museum

August 2021

Lunch after event

Optus Oval

October 2021

Lunch after event

Family Military and Service History

Searching for the military and service history of a family member can take time and effort.  These two links are the more common ones available.  A digital copy of their service records may also be available, if not, then information is available on how to obtain them.

https://nominal-rolls.dva.gov.au

https://www.dva.gov.au/recognition/commemorating-all-who-served/records-and-military-history

Online Shopping at Australian War Memorial

https://www.awm.gov.au/shop/category/all

For those who like military themed purchases or gifts, did you know that the Australian War memorial has a large range of items listed for sale.  Prices are reasonable and its worth a browse.  Just click on the above link or enter it in your internet browse.

Gallipoli Scholarship fund Applications Open

https://www.dva.gov.au/newsroom/latest-news-veterans/gallipoli-scholarship-fund-applications-open

Applications for the Gallipoli Scholarship opened on 1 November and will close on 1 February 2021.  The Scholarship is offered by the not-for-profit organisation, the Gallipoli Scholarship Fund a not-for-profit organisation.   It now provides scholarships and bursaries to Australian citizens who are direct descendants of Australian and New Zealand veterans who have served in any conflict or peace operation since the Gallipoli.  To provide funding to undertake first-year tertiary study at an approved Australian university or TAFE at advanced diploma or degree level.

Applications close on 1 February 2021.

For more information and an application form, visit: www.gallipolischolarship.com.au

or email applications@gallipolischolarship.com.au

DVA Services over the Holiday Season

DVA will continue to provide support to veterans and their families during the holiday season.  However, please be aware that some services will be affected.

Urgent Medical Assistance

If you have a medical emergency always ring Phone 000

Counselling, Mental Health Support and Crisis / Short Term Accommodation

 

The Open Arms — Veterans & Families Counselling, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.  1800 011 046 (toll-free from landlines and most mobiles).

visit openarms.gov.au for info on a range of calming and coping strategies

Anonymous Counselling

The Safe Zone Support.  24/7 to support . Phone 1800 142 072 (toll-free from landlines and most mobiles).

Transport Bookings

1800 550 455

DVA staff will be available to process transport requests for medical treatment on 29, 30 and 31 December

Closed on 25, 26, 27 and 28 December and 1 January.  If transport is required on these days and has not been pre-booked, you can pay for the travel and seek reimbursement when they reopen.  Or, if you are an existing MyAccount or MyService user, you can make new transport bookings and review existing ones online.

Defence Service Homes Insurance

For enquiries, or help with a policy or claim, phone 1300 552 662 — 24 hours 7 days a week.  For payments, phone 1300 304 989 for the cost of a local call.

Hospital Admissions

Doctors can admit DVA patients into hospital over the holiday period and request retrospective approval for the admission, where required, when DVA resumes full services

Pharmaceutical Approvals

There will be no reduction in services across the Christmas/New Year period.

Providers seeking prior approval for pharmaceuticals can call the Veterans’ Affairs Pharmaceutical Advisory Centre (VAPAC) 24 hours a day on 1800 552 580.

Pension Payments

Pension payments due to be paid on Thursday 17 December 2020 and Thursday 31 December 2020 are not affected over this period.  First pension pay day of the New Year will be Thursday 14 January 2021.

Incapacity Payments

Incapacity payments will be paid on Thursday, 24 December.  The first incapacity pay day of the New Year will be Thursday, 7 January 2021.  However, because of differing arrangements by various banks during the holiday period this payment may differ from usual.  You may wish to plan to ensure you have enough funds to cover any direct deposit payments.

VAN Offices, General Enquiries, Open Arms

DVA offices and shopfronts, and general enquiry services, will be closed for the Christmas / New Year period from 25 December 2020 through to 3 January 2021.

Open Arms phone access is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year on 1800 011 046.

Veterans’ Mental Health and Support

Mental health and suicide prevention is everyone’s business, and we all have a part to play – check in on a mate, ask them if they are okay, have a conversation and help them get the support they need.

Help is available, so please reach out.  Open Arms provide 24/7 counselling and support to current and former ADF members and their families.  They also offer face-to-face and video counselling, online or in-person group treatment programs, suicide prevention programs and crisis accommodation support.

Open Arms Website contains a valuable source of information – https://www.openarms.gov.au/ and can be reached 24/7 on:

1800 011 046

37-39 Reynolds Rd, Mount Pleasant WA 6153

And On A Lighter Note – No Reflection on Officers

(Old and Corny)

On Exercise

The company commander and the sergeant were in the field.  As they go to bed for the night, the sergeant said: “Sir, look up into the sky and tell me what you see?”

The commander said, “I see millions of stars.”

Sgt: “And what does that tell you, sir?”

“Astronomically, it tells me that there are millions of galaxies and potentially billions of planets.  Theologically, it tells me that God is great and that we are small and insignificant.  Meteorologically, it tells me that we will have a beautiful day tomorrow.  What does it tell you, sergeant?”

Sgt:  “Well sir, it tells me that somebody stole our hoochie.”

Recruitment Selection

The Chief of Staff decided to personally recruit some pilots and he saw two young twins.  He looked at the first twin and asked, “What skills can you bring to the Air Force?”

The first twin looks at him and says: “I’m a pilot!”  The General gets all excited, turns to his aide and says: “Get this one in today, all the paper work done, everything, do it!”  The aide hustles the first twin off. 

The General looks at the second twin and asks, “What skills can you bring to the Air Force?”  The second twin says: “I chop wood!”  The general replies , We don’t need wood choppers in the Air Force, what real skills do you have?”

“I chop wood!”  The general huffs, “You are not listening to me, we don’t need wood choppers, this is the 21st century!”

“Well you hired my twin!”

“Of course we did,” says the general, “Your twin is a pilot!”

The second twin’s eyes roll and says “So what!  I have to chop it before he can pile it!

Tune in to The Listening Post every Monday 1800-2000, Capital Radio 101.7 FM, Capital Digital and from anywhere via www.capitalcommunityradio.comPerth’s only radio program specially for Defence personnel, past and present, their families and friends.

 If you are not receiving emails from the Secretary advising you of important events, please forward your phone number and email contact to: northbeachrslwa@gmail.com

Office Bearers 2020 – 2021

President

John Rolfe 0439 934 036

jrsenior49@gmail.com

Commemorative

Barry Lloyd

Vice President

Brad Harrison

ANZAC Day

John Rolfe, Chris Rampant, David House, Bernie Egan

Secretary

Trevor McEntyre 0447 730 911

northbeachrslwa@gmail.com

Poppy Day

Steve Fletcher

Assistant Secretary

Wayne Koch

Revenue Steward

Jim Muscat,

Tom May (assistant)

Treasurer

David King

Honorary Chaplain

Marie Aitken

Warden

Chris Rampant
Alex Lennox

Stewards

Stuart Young, Peter Dales, David Makin

Stewart Davies

Memorial Warden

David House 0409 317 411

dchouse@iinet.net.au

Social Activities

Annual Dinner

Paul McGuinness 0417  181025

maccamcguinness@hotmail.com

Jon McKenzie

Wellbeing Support

 

 

Wellbeing Support

 

 

Peer Health

Greg Gough  0417 911 173

patngoughy@hotmail.com

David House 0409 317 411

dchouse@iinet.net.au

Alex Lennox 0409 114 298

Eric Aitkins

Website & News Editor

Brian Jennings 0413 605 612

jamjenb@bigpond.com

Master at Arms

Stuart Leake

 

 

Your Executive Committee

Wardens

Welfare

If you are aware of any of our members who are in a bad way and need assistance please let the Sub Branch know, if you are aware of the death of a member let the Secretary know, as there are guidelines laid down to ensure that the DVA, Legacy, Welfare Officers and RSL State Branch are informed, newspaper Tributes are inserted, and funeral details promulgated.

Memorial Warden

The Memorial Precinct on the Charles Riley Memorial Reserve is owned and maintained by the City of Stirling and administered by the Sub Branch. The area includes the Monument, Wall of Remembrance and the “Lone Pine” tree.
Plaques on The Wall of Remembrance recognise the service of deceased members of the Sub Branch.
 David House- 0409317411- is the current Warden, David arranges the unveiling of plaques on Remembrance Day each year. (6 weeks prior notice required before unveiling of plaques)

Commemorative Committee,

Our Commemorative committee organises ANZAC Day Dawn Services, and planning for the Remembrance Day service.
Funding for the Dawn Service is mainly from Lotterywest and the City of Stirling.

 

Groups

Walkers, meet Wednesday and Friday, Hillarys Boat Harbour, 0800-0845
About 20-25 members meet regularly for a stroll along the coast followed by coffee and a chat.
We also have kayakers who meet up at 0800 for a paddle and pick up debris from the Boat Harbour, before joining the walkers at coffee. The newly established cycling group is also gaining in numbers.